News & Features
DLSL-Led Team Reclaims Major Title in Palarong Pambansa
Article written by Catherine Perez | 5/9/2017 11:41:13 AM

Victorious delegations of De La Salle Lipa went home with major titles and special awards after a rewarding engagement at the recently concluded Palarong Pambansa 2017 in Antique.

The DLSL-led Calabarzon Secondary Volleyball Girls Team reclaimed its championship title after reigning the said event back in the 90's. Calabarzon defeated no less than the defending champions, NCR, as they came from behind to win in five sets, 19-25, 11-25, 25-16, 25-16, 15-9. Members of the team, Alleiah Jan Malaluan-Best Blocker, Mary Mirgie Bautista, Yvonne Cyrah Humarang, Kimberly Adajar, Janel Maraguinot, and Jamie Margaret Frago composed the DLSL delegation, with selected players Alyssa Jae Solomon (UPHS-Bian)-MVP and Best Opposite Spiker, May Ann Nuique (Mater School), Maria Fe Galanza (SPRCN), Joyce Lanugan (SPRCN), and Shere Sambajon (SPRCN), completed the selection. Coaches, Regine Diego and Pedro Perez Jr., led the team.

Two more DLSL-led Calabarzon volleyball teams earned awards in the national tournament, the Elementary Boys and Girls. Bronze medalist elementary boys, composed of DLSL players Brent Edward Maralit, Jomari Diaz, Chris Emmanuel Hernandez, Jeremi Pierre Cuenca, and Kris Gabriel Hernandez, were joined by players, Tory Asufre (San Sebastian Elem. School Lipa City), King Edward Herbosa (Tiayani Elem. School, Calamba City), Christian Eron Lardizabal (Bats. East Central School, Batangas Province), Simon Charles Banavidez (Pacita Complex Elem. School, Laguna), and Rakishi Alejandrei Gacula (Pacita Complex Elem. School, Laguna). The team's coaches were Jerome Guhit and Ian Landicho.

The elementary girls' team with coach, Imelda A. Mendoza, and trainer, Imelda A. Mendoza, is another bronze medalist. Members, Lira Angela Magaling - Best Opposite Spiker, Alyanna Margueitte Rocafort, Ayeesha Sandrine Atienza, Gabriel Therese Reyes, Verenicce Colendra, and Francesca Sofia Rodriguez, from DLSL were joined by Alliana Jacel A. Paragas (Nuestra Seora de Aranzazu Parochial School-Rizal), Maryell Denize C. Landicho (Green Land Academy-Rizal), Mary Coleen S. Sumaysay (Laguna) - Best Blocker, Kristina Andrea G. Mina (Batangas), and Carlyn Jeanne P. Nicolas (Imus) - Best Outside Hitter.

Meanwhile, selected Green Chevron player, John Mark Ronquillo, joined the Calabarzon Secondary Volleyball Boys team, led by the University of Perpetual Help System-Bian. The team clinched the top award as Ronquillo received the Best Blocker title.

Finally, completing this year's DLSL Palaro titlists are the Green Chevron swimmers who paddled their way to several awards.  Ani Danya Ona earned three medals, silver for 4x100 Medley Relay, bronze for 100 Meter Breaststroke, and bronze for 4x50 Medley Relay. Palaro regular, Ethan Go, received bronze for 200M Breaststroke and broke the time record in the same event of last year's winner. Two more swimmers received their award; Robin Luise Tolentino earned a silver for the 200M Individual Medley and Gabrielle Madelaine Gonzalvo got a bronze for the 4x50 Meter Medley Relay.

Indeed, it was a sweet victory for the Green Chevrons after enduring rigorous training and sacrifices to face the country's toughest players.