News & Features
  DLSL hosts NCAA-South 15th season  
  Post by: Catherine Perez | 9/16/2013 7:58:09 AM  

  The 15th season of the National Collegiate Athletic Association-South kicked off on August 16, 2013 at the SENTRUM.

Top administrators from the following member schools: Colegio De San Juan De Letran, De La Salle Lipa, Don Bosco Technical College Mandaluyong, Emilio Aguinaldo College Cavite, First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities, Lyceum of the Philippines University Batangas, Philippine Christian University Dasmarias, San Beda College Alabang, St. Francis of Assisi College Las Pias, San Pablo Colleges, University of Batangas, and University of Perpetual Help System Laguna, converged at the opening of the new season hosted by DLSL.

The affair commenced with a motorcade led by the respective muse and school representatives. A mob dance courtesy of the Salindayaw Dance Company, DLSLs PEP Squad - Danzcom and the Integrated School dance groups, hinted the commencement of the program proper. The DLSL Voices led the prayer and national anthem.

DLSL President and Chancellor, Br. Joaquin S. Martinez FSC, D. Min., addressed the attendees composed of the members schools athletes and DLSL students. The Brother President encouraged the participants to uphold the goals and objectives of the association and to keep on supporting the athletes who are at the forefront of the NCAA-South.

DLSLs Sports and Culture Director, Emily Babasa, introduced the events guest speaker representative of the third district of Pampanga and Rain or Shine head coach Cong. Yeng Guiao. The congressmans proven and tested formula of success in the field of sports was the dose of wisdom that he imparted to the young athletes. 

Subsequently, the awarding ceremony took place. The Ms. NCAA-South title for the 15th season went to University of Batangas Tanya Lodih. Overall winner for the junior division was De La Salle Lipa, while the University of Perpetual Help System Laguna, was the overall winner for the senior division. The NCAA-South acknowledged the outstanding achievement in the service of sports and its development; the service award went to Angelica Dela Cruz and Fr. Honorato Castigador of Colegio De San Juan De Letran. 

After the awarding rites, the invited dance group D Intensity finalist in a noontime shows dance contest, brought the house down with their inexhaustible and vigorous acrobatic moves which the young audience undoubtedly enjoyed.

For the ceremonial lighting of torch, high school volleyball boys team captain Lawrence Magadia, along with the Brother President, took the lead. The latter likewise formally declared the opening of the 15th season of NCAA-South.

The Colored Warriors composed of the Salindayaw Dance Company and Danzcom marked the grand finale and closed the ceremony with a bang!