News & Features
  DLSL Conquers DSPC '16  
  Post by: Rizzia Marisse Guico | 11/21/2016 8:52:30 AM  

  De La Salle Lipa's young journalists emerged victorious as the over-all champion in the 2016 Division Schools Press Conference held in Lipa City Youth Cultural Center and Lipa City National High School last October 23.

In the individual category, Gian Blythe Montevirgen, Grade 10, won the first place in Filipino Feature Writing, as well as Joshua Katigbak, Grade 10, in Filipino Photo Journalism. Allan Christopher Sayat, Grade 10, won second place in English Copyreading and Headline Writing, and Elizabeth Kho, Grade 9, won third place in English Science and Health Writing.
John Bien Angelo Uy, Grade 10, also won eighth place in English Editorial Cartooning. Andrea Mikaela Llanes, Grade 11, won second place in English Feature Writing, David Chael Bucal, won third place in Filipino Editorial Cartooning and Cheanne Tenorio, Grade 11, sixth place in English Editorial Writing.

In the group category, DLSL's English and Filipino Collaborative Publishing teams including Rizia Marisse Guico, Clarian Joy Medina, Jericho Joshua De Jesus, Andre Victor Suarez, Ron Joel Raphael Berana, Kristine Bandelaria, Frances Joyce Cruz, Nicole Gonzales, Clarabelle Garay, Karsten Tolentino, Rein Albances, Seline Abanto, Jona Bondad, and Jamie Villamil,  won the first place with the awards Best News Page, Best Editorial Page, Best Feature Page, Best Editorial Cartoon, Best Photos and Best Lay-out.

The English and Filipino TV Broadcasting teams participated in by Anthony Cedric Mandado, Chantal Therese Laude, Clyde Aundrei Guerra, Alliyah Gutierrez, Arabella Racelis, Aimerose Atienza, Thea Bulloso, Renz Earl Louis Sapitanan, Joyce Nicola Villena, Vivien Abrigonda, Mariz Makalintal, Miguel Lindog, Carmine Magnaye, and Dana Sulit, also won the first place.
Another gold medals for the Filipino and English Radio Broadcasting teams with Clarence Andrew Mendoza as the first best anchor, Keziah Roi Berberabe as the First Best News Presenter, Charlene Sibug awarded as the Third Best News Presenter and Second Best Script, and Galen Angeles as the Second Best Technical Application in Filipino.

In English Radio Broadcasting, Dalton Emanuel Mojica won as the First Best Technical Application, Joan Matulac as the Second Best Script, Veronica Lorraine Medrano as the First Best Anchor, and Kate Renshie Jayin as the Second Best Infomercial.

DLSL will also compete in the 2016 Regional Schools Press Conference on December 5-7, 2016 in Batangas City with the hopes of winning.