News & Features
  Comm films reap regional and national awards  
  Post by: Cherie Glo S. Cabungcal and Jahaziel Mangahis | 5/10/2017 3:45:57 PM  

  The short films of AB Communication students produced in their Thesis/Special Project class continue to win in regional and national student film festivals.

Tinig, directed by Fatima Mae Banaag, won as Best Screenplay, Best Production Design, and Audience Choice awards at the PeliKultura: The Calabarazon Film Festival 2017 held in UP Los Banos from March 6 - 10. Their lead actor,Kalil Almonte, won as Best Actor. Banaag and her group members Noelle Pauline Buela, Paul Christian Castillo, Jan Kyle Espejo, and Haneen Abu Alhalawa were also awarded the Special Citation recognition for tackling the plight of a son whose parents are PWDs. Crossing the barriers of having deaf and mute parents, the film successfully showed how a son made his parents appreciate his spoken poetry recital despite their disabilities.

Likewise, the film also won as 2nd Best Film in the 3rd Eksinelente Short Film Festival of the University of Batangas held last March 28- 29, 2017. Banaag won as Best Director.

Meanwhile, another AB Communication thesis/special project entitled Nawala victoriously won in CineSB Film Competition held last March 30 31, 2017 at the School of Arts and Design, College of St. Benilde. Directed by Aimon Cydric Mercado and produced with his members, Danielle Shena Baylon, Farah Coyoca, Amador Rey De Castro VI, and Jericka Mendoza, the film revolved around a family's struggles and challenges after finding an alleged dead man in their backyard. The film visually transcended how betrayal and distrust could redefine a family when reward money is at stake. The film was adjudged as Best Feature Film, Berde Technical Excellence for Sound, Editing, and Cinematography, and Berde Design Ensemble. The lead actor, Raul Morit won as Best Actor.

The said films were previously screened at SM City Lipa Cinemas in December 2016 during the 8th Cineberde, an annual film festival of the AB Communication Department that showcase the short film thesis/special projects of the graduating batch.